Small Things

“‘Who despises the day of small things? Men will rejoice when they see the plumb line in the hand of Zerubbabel.’ (These seven are the eyes of the LORD, which range throughout the earth.)”
Zechariah 4:10 (NIV)

This verse has resonated in my life recently and I want to briefly share my experience with The Lord’s “small things.”

I got saved in October of 2012 and immediately Jesus shook the foundations of my world. As a budding flower blooms and accepts its rightful place in the sky, my life was transformed and continues to unfold from the inside out. I encountered truth for the first time in my life and was accepted into a community of people who truly knows what it means to love. Jesus’s words, “…and the truth will set you free.” (John 8:32 NIV) have become alive in my own story. Forgiveness and transparency are continuing to flow through me and into the ruins and corpses of relationships and dreams I thought were long dead. Now my connection and desire for His presence is like a river, flowing every day with new currents, uncovering new cracks and crevices in the ground beneath it.

Pressing on in my walk with Jesus, I am beginning to uncover the beauty and magnitude of the “small things” in life.

I have been working for close to 3 years for Affliction Clothing, taking on multiple positions and duties during my time here and was most recently promoted to the Graphic Design team. I have no experience in the field and it just so happened that they needed a hand to help out with the Film process the graphics undergo before they are sent to be screen-printed. It’s the lowest job on the totem pole when it comes to Graphic Design but an important one at that. It is my responsibility to double and triple-check the films and graphics to make sure that all the colors are called out correctly and that there is nothing wrong with the design itself before it is sent out to print. During this process, I have become familiar with Photoshop, Illustrator and In-Design–programs and skills I previously had no use or desire for. This job that I thought was merely a stepping stone in my life has recently taken on new life and God is showing me that He can use what I thought was dormant and small in its purposes for The Kingdom into a life-giving reservoir.

In early July my good friend David approached me with an idea of creating sponsorship cards for the orphans he would be reaching in Myanmar (Burma), which would help to filter much-needed resources to the kids at the orphanage. Recognizing the opportunity and my desire to help, I offered my limited skills and resources to create the cards. The feat was large and my knowledge and capabilities small but I knew beyond a shadow of doubt that God was behind it.

What followed were weeks of trial and error and some stagnant, disheartening hours on lunch breaks and after work. My boss graciously offered to help me with the nuances of the task and we worked together, which was a blessing in its own right. Eventually, we reached a deadline scenario where we had to put in some “crunch time” hours to get the cards done or else we were in jeopardy of falling short. God orchestrated the events that followed to streamlined perfection…

The situation: 4 days to finish the cards, input information for 100+ kids, get them printed, cut and ready to hand out for a conference later that week. We had no venue to meet at and the task appeared daunting… and then it hit me. We could do it at Affliction and get the job done quicker and more efficiently since all the files were on my computer there. We met the next morning and got to work. It wasn’t long after we started that we realized that transferring files to each other would be a major issue. The Wi-Fi was acting up and it threatened to put a damper on the whole thing.

Then I remembered, earlier that morning my mom happened to give me a flash drive (one that I didn’t even know existed!) specifically so I can transfer files from work to my home computer, just for this occasion! That ridiculous Darth Vader flash drive ended up being THE key component to accomplishing our task. God knew exactly what we needed when we needed it and practically hand-delivered it to us! It was an amazing revelation.

I never thought I would say that Darth Vader was my saving grace!

To make a long story short(er), we accomplished what we… what God set out to do from the start. God called us to be His vessels to see this task to completion and we were obedient enough to respond with, “I am willing.” God, however does not give the details or the “how-to’s,” He just gives us a snapshot of the end result and tells us to “go.” This is why I love following God. Without mystery there would be no romance, there would be no need for faith. Faith is an adventure. I have seen firsthand what “the day of small things” can bring to this world. Children’s lives will be affected because of that Darth Vader flash drive, the hours spent behind the scenes working on the kinks of Illustrator and Photoshop, late nights, early mornings and this low-level position at Affliction Clothing. If God could use these hands to create something meaningful and put a smile on one of those beautiful faces in Myanmar, then I have truly done my duty.

“I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.” 
Philippians 3:14 (NIV)

dvflashdrive

Leave a Reply

