Embrace rejection

funny-gifs-say-no-to-rejection-1

There is a problem that comes with perfection on earth in the inability of everyone here to accept things that are in fact good. And you might say, “well what is good for one person may not be good for another person.” While this hypothetical may be valid due to it’s ambiguity, there are in fact things that are unequivocally good for all people. The bible talks about fruit of the spirit in Galatians 5:22, “But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, forbearance, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control. Against such things there is no law.”

What is important to note is the inability (especially among the teachers of the law) that people had in accepting Jesus’ teachings when he was here on earth. In fact, He had a lot of resistance, even though there could be no one person and no plan more perfect. The reality is that even the most perfect plans meet resistance and ultimately rejection.

And this is with a perfect plan! How about plans that are not so perfect?  We need to carry over the same principle and be prepared for that. If there is one quality that the most effectual people on earth have had, it is their indifference to rejection. These people realized that failure was not real, but in everything here on earth, there is an effect. In every result that one person may consider to be a failure, the most successful people would consider it a victory as a lesson learned. I, myself, need to learn that my plans can not be perfect, but even if they were, they would face rejection all the same.

I’m a perfectionist and I like for everything that I do to yield the most results. The problem with that is the fear that doing something will yield minimal results. But I’m coming to realize that results of any kind are beneficial; in fact, monumental success stories are made up of smaller milestones. I’ve come to realize that even the best plans face rejection, as there are certain people who can comprehend your plan and others who will resist with all their effort.

I plan to embrace rejection. Many people already know me as someone who isn’t affected by rejection in my ability to continue pressing forward without a change in attitude. The problem is that unless I feel compelled to do so, I will avoid a circumstance in which I feel I am likely to face rejection. I need to alter this behavior dramatically so that this fear does not limit the plan God has for my life. I have decided to make a new goal for myself that will have a new focus on doing more things in which I expect rejection, without compromising. I  will tackle these things with an open heart and open mind as if I expect them to happen, and allow God to surprise me when the odds were against me. Overall, I plan to plan less, and do more. I will embrace the rejection of my plans and appreciate the results of my labor, so that when I execute plans that God puts on my heart, that execution is not hindered by the fear of rejection.

Leave a Reply

