peace that surpasses all understanding

On January 13, 2013 my life was forever changed. I was in big bear for a retreat with my church discussing with seven other people if Jesus desired for all people to be healed. How the conversation came about I don’t remember, but it quickly turned into a heated debate. No matter what anyone said I could not believe that Jesus desired for ALL to be healed. How could I?

In April of 2012 I went to the doctor for an annual check up and received notice that my tests came up positive for cancer cells. Not only were the cells present, but in time the cells could multiply and eventually the chance of having kids could be slim to none. If there was anything I wanted for my life, it was to be a mother. Here I was confused and in disbelief wondering how God could claim to give me the desires of my heart (Psalms 37:4) and then take away the one thing I desired more than anything in the world.

In confessing to having cancer in my body I was convinced it would prove my point on healing.The reaction I got left me dumbfounded. I wanted to be angry but I was lost in confusion. No one thought my situation was as devastating as I did. Then I thought to myself, of course they don’t, it’s not happening to them. Instantly they spoke to me about Jesus’ stripes, and the healing power they have on my life. They expressed that Jesus did not have to suffer for our sins, He merely had to die for them. The suffering Jesus took on was specifically for our transgressions, iniquities, peace, and our HEALING (Isaiah 53:5). They told me that Jesus wanted to heal me, and that in fact, they were sure He was going to.

In that moment a mentor of mine took charge and had everyone stand up and lay hands on me (James 5:14). He asked me to lead and to declare healing over myself, and that when I could no longer pray for myself everyone would continue in tongues, the language of the spirit (I Corinthians 2:13).

cross

When we started to pray it was still night, but when I opened my eyes again the light of day was shining on that place. Not only did Jesus make it extremely clear to me that I was healed, but the lives of so many others were changed that night. A friend of mine in that room had never spoken in tongues before, but because of her love for me she asked God to bless her with the gift of tongues (something she asked for earlier that weekend but did not receive) and it was given to her (I Corinthians 12: 30-31). Another girl in the room had never given her testimony to anyone about how God healed her from a rough mental state, and in order to encourage me she shared it (Revelations 12: 10-11).

In exactly one week I have an appointment that is suppose to tell me where my body stands today. Yet I stand today boldly in Christ knowing that I am healed; knowing that I am more than a conquerer in this (Romans 8:37). Doctors can give me facts, they can give me test results, and they can give me statistics. My God gives me peace (John 16:33).

A peace that surpasses all understanding which guards my heart and mind and lets me know that I will ALWAYS be healed (Philippians 4:7) and that He is ALWAYS with me (Psalms 23:4).

Many are the afflictions of the righteous, but the LORD delivers him out of them all. -Psalms 34:19

 

 

One thought on “peace that surpasses all understanding

  1. AMEN! Nicholle, you are an inspiration and wonderful example of the light we’ve been given. So proud of you and the person you are becoming. Praise God.

Leave a Reply

