Pride and my error

The following article explains how I almost lost my job by sticking my neck out for a person who in hindsight, wasn’t ready for that sort of sacrifice.  Jesus said to give to those who ask, but the key component there is someone who is willing to humble themselves enough to ask and receive. Not everyone is ready to receive God’s blessings.

guillotine

Jose worked at my parents dealership for about a year when one day he just didn’t show up. Since then, we’ve hired a few replacements who have ended up not performing well. We needed a good car washer and I felt we should give Jose a second chance.

So my dad called Jose to come, and he did. He worked one night on a specific car, and spoke to my mom that night, apparently then realizing that she would not forgive him for disappearing so easily. And again, he just didn’t show up the next day.

I’ve always got along with Jose, in fact, I never understood when people talked about his insubordination because he always did the things that I asked of him. We had a better relationship than the rest. So when he didn’t come back the next day, I wanted to encourage him to stick around. I figured he was going through some stuff.

Jose doesn’t have a car or a phone, but a few people here at the dealership decided that I should go pick him up. His dad was furious that he didn’t show up to work, but I got his address and went to his house to encourage him to come back. When I arrived, Jose was both defeated and yet prideful. It was a weird combination. He spoke of having work at a carwash that was unstable at best. I told him not to get in his own way, that if he got fired one day, to let that happen but not to cut himself short because of worries for the future. Matthew 6:34 “Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.” It took a lot of encouragement, but he finally decided to put his pride aside, saying that the only reason he would come back was for me. This gave me a sense of responsibility where his job with us was concerned. Before we left his house, I told my dad that I was going to pick up Jose and bring him to work, to which he consented.

I felt that we needed to be there for him as an organization. In our discussions, he had mentioned that he was a believer, and I felt that it was our job as fellow believers to look after one another, if anyone at all.  If a sheep herder loses a sheep, Matthew 18:13 “And if he finds it, truly I tell you, he is happier about that one sheep than about the ninety-nine that did not wander off.”

So we arrived and Jose got to work. I then entered the office and spoke to my mom saying that I think we should give Jose a chance. She sternly disagreed, saying that she prayed to God specifically in regards to Jose and basically to give her a sign. The fact that he didn’t show up that day was a significant sign to her; but, I held on to my understanding of the love that Jesus shows to people and the fact that Jesus came for people who need him most of all. According to Luke 5:32  “I have come to call not those who think they are righteous, but those who know they are sinners and need to repent.” I wanted to be there for him,  and I felt that God put this so much on my heart that I was ready to tell my mom, “If you fire him, you’re firing me.” The problem to this tactic was that I was putting myself on the line for someone who wasn’t willing to do the same. The critical part to that verse is “those who know they… need.

Just before I put my job on the line for Jose, I came to find out that in knowing of my mother’s uncertainty towards him, he asked my father to pay him for the day and left. I realized something significant in that moment.

Jesus forgave people of their sins and cleansed their bodies of diseases, but he did not do so for everyone. Jesus showed everyone love, but forgave and cleansed people who expressed their belief in him, and who put their pride aside to ask for cleansing. These people demonstrated their faith by submitting themselves to him.

Not everyone is ready for that. Some people suffer because of their own pride. Their own ego gets in the way of the blessings that God has in store for them.

1 Peter 5:5-7 “…All of you, clothe your-selves with humility toward one another, because, ‘God opposes the proud but gives grace to the humble.’ Humble yourselves, therefore, under God’s mighty hand, that he may lift you up in due time. Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you.”

Do not take matters into your own hands, but leave them up to God so that he “may lift you up in due time.”

Luke 14:10 “But when you are invited, take the lowest place, so that when your host comes, he will say to you, ‘Friend, move up to a better place….’ “

Not everyone is ready to receive God’s blessings. In Jose’s case, if he was ready to let go of his pride, I would have stuck my neck out for him; but, he just wasn’t ready.

Leave a Reply

