Lust and submitting to sin

This is an analysis of the second devotion I had after rededicating my life, repurposed for this blog. It includes the reflection and prayer that I wrote out on paper to provide insight into the prayer of a christian for any non-believers out there who are interested.  This devotion’s prayer was simple as I was young in the spirit. My prayers have grown stronger and more intimate even over these last few months.  My spiritual growth has been sustained by the word of God, a men’s bible study that I began to attend, as well as some phenomenal worship at Cottonwood Church’s Young Adult Minities- Incite

1 John 1:5-6 God is light; in him there is no darkness at all. If we claim to have fellowship with him yet walk in the darkness, we lie and do not live by truth.

1 John 2:3  We know that we have come to know him if we obey his commands. The man who says, “I know him,” but does not obey his commands is a liar and the truth is not in him. Buy if anyone obeys his word, God’s love is truly made complete in him. This is how we know we are in him: whoever claims to live in him must walk as Jesus did. 

Written sometime in late January-

Reflection

1 John 1:5 I need to wake up in the morning- no more late nights- as soon as the sun comes out or even as the sun is beginning to come out. This marks the time God wants me to be awake. And it’s true; as the light begins to fade, sin begins to rise. Drinking increases, as well as all sorts of other fleshly activity that potentially would weaken my walk with God through shame, and other effects. This obviously is talking about more than just focussing on activities during certain times of day, but time of day is applicable as well. Furthermore, “There is no darkness in him at all” means that as I sin, I am separated from God. I can not be in fellowship with God if I continue to sin. But how can this be true if we all sin?  There is a clear distinction between submitting to sin and submitting to God.

When a person submits to sin, they believe that their actions are a natural part of their life and they should do nothing to change their own behavior, and especially not their thoughts. In contrast, Jesus’ word was, in fact, aiming to change us at the very thought level of our behavior, far before the actions themselves.

Jesus’ words: Mathew 5:27-28 “You have heard that it was said, ‘You shall not commit adultery.’ But I tell you that anyone who looks at a woman lustfully has already committed adultery with her in his heart.”

Those who submit to God will not only seek to control their behavior, but their thoughts as well. As opposed to just treading along technical terminology, “well, technically I didn’t have an affair, or the more secretive (guy code) but now common” I had an affair with my wife.. high-five” Jesus wanted us not to even look at other women in such a way- to control the thought before it is developed, to look the other way, and to master that behavior, and mentality.

“But if anyone obeys his word, God’s love is truly made complete in him.  This is how we know we are in him.”

A person who submits to sin would say, “What!? This is only natural. I can’t help it.” and would continue to do so behind his wife’s back and often even in front of her. Christians mess up with this as well, but the difference is that a person who is truly alive in the spirit will control his own thoughts, and is willing to change his behavior to stop lust before it even starts, or to keep it from taking over.

Still don’t agree? Let’s work this out together. Should we allow every impulse we have to dictate the actions we take throughout our lives? Should a man who is married be allowed to and encouraged to lust after other women with the justification that, well, it’s only natural? After all, he can’t help having those feelings for other women, even though he’s married. It’s his chemistry. Well, Jesus said it clearly, and with such a high divorce rate, our society is riddled with countless examples of why impulsive desires should not govern our lives.

Prayer

“Dear Lord, I pray that you may allow me to live in your light, both physically and in regards to behavior. I pray that I may continue this pursue after a relationship with you, by removing sin from my life so that I may fully and truly experience your love the way I was meant to experience it. I know that I have at one point, when I was a child, but it’s been a long time and I seek that from you now Lord. “

Leave a Reply

